Storyboard Process: Day Three

by emilymorter

The aim for shot 21 is to display location; I’m using a tilt to show the height of the trees which will symbolize how small the characters are and make the audience release that the the characters are defenseless.

DCIM100MEDIA

Shot 21 is a tilt shot of the location.

 

Shot 27 is an experimental shot. I want to show that the male character is hanging from a tree but I’m not sure if it will be clear to the audience what is happening. I’ll use a medium shot will the actors hold himself up in the tree, the shot will consist on the forest background and his feet swinging from a tree.

FullSizeRender-3

Shot 27 is of the male character’s feet hanging from a tree.

I’ll be using match on action during shot 30, 31 and 32. The action starts with the female character hiding behind a tree then using an arc shot around a tree to show the audience that this circle is the subject of attention. This will be followed by her hand gripping the tree. This sequence will create tension and continuity.

DCIM100MEDIA

Shot 31 is an arc shot around a tree which the female character is hiding behind

My final shot will be a close up of half of the villain’s face. I’m only showing half because during my questionnaire my target audience said not seeing much of the frightening character is more scary than seeing too much. She’ll be smiling and I’ll zoom into her smiling and then fade out black, this is when the title will appear. In the background i’ll have a quiet audio of her laughing.

FullSizeRender-4

Shot 43 is the final shot which shows the scary face smiling.

Day three is a tedious process of completing the drawings of the rest of  the shot list. Once I’d finished the storyboard I felt as It was missing something; none of the pictures stood out and the fluidity of the opening sequence didn’t seem clear. This is why I felt an extra session was needed to improve my storyboard.